HONEY O CEREAL BARS

These amazing no bake cereal bars are literally the best! They are just so simple & easy to make and of course require no effort. The nice cherry on top is that they are completely nut, peanut and coconut free; making them lunch friendly when your children take them to school 🙂

Growing up with a nut allergy was extremely hard when I was little. Not only did my parents have to read all the ingredients on every little thing I had, they also had to monitor everything I ate. Unfortunately dinner parties were the worst! We would arrive to our family friends homes and I would immediately be drawn to the nicely displayed food. I remember how the first thing my mother would do was ask the hostess if there were any nuts in any of the foods. And of course before they could answer, I’d have gobbled down anything in front of me. Within seconds I would start having a reaction and go into an anaphylactic shock.

One of the reasons why I started making these bars was because I grew tired of trying to find bars that were completely nut free. I had been to so many grocery stores and all I could find were ones that were peanut free. The downside with the peanut free bars was that they still would contain coconuts or other nuts. Overall, I was able to find completely nut free bars but unfortunately they ended up having way too much sugar

To make these bars, I start off by melting some butter in a small saucepan over medium heat. I then add some brown sugar, cinnamon and of course HONEY! Western Sage Glacier Creamed Honey is where it’s at! It’s just so rich in flavour and I’m able to put it on just about everything. I then combine that liquid mixture with some cereal (any of your favourite will do) and I add some raisins as well.

The neat thing about this recipe is you can put just about anything you like into it! I’ve shared this recipe with some friends and they decided to put in some dried fruit and nuts instead of raisins and it worked completely well with them 🙂

 

HONEY O CEREAL BARS

  • Servings: 16 Bars
  • Time: 15 Minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

INGREDIENTS


 3 Tbsp. of butter
– 1/4 cup of packed brown sugar
– 1/4 cup of honey
– 1 tbsp. of cinnamon
– 4 cups of cereal (I used Multi Grain Cheerios)
– 1/2 cup of raisins

 DIRECTIONS


  1. Line a 9×9 square baking pan with parchment paper
  2. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, combine the butter, brown sugar, honey and cinnamon
  3. Bring to a boil and continue stirring for 2 minutes and remove from heat
  4. In a large bowl, combine the cereal, raisins and butter mixture.
  5. Pour the cereal mixture into the parchment lined pan and let the bars cool completely and then cut into squares

Photo 2016-02-01, 6 59 03 PM

Leave a Reply

